How I know I’ve become a basic white girl

Alternate titles:
– You can take the girl out of Jersey but you can’t take the Jersey out of the girl
– Why I didn’t really fit in when I lived in Bushwick
– I’m not sure who this person is that I have become
– How I know I am not a hipster

Latte art

As I write this, I am sitting in a Starbucks on my laptop, drinking a venti quad skinny vanilla latte with coconut milk. Let’s start there. When I commute to Brooklyn to work, I would rather stop at Starbucks in Penn Station on the way, than wait to go to the overly trendy coffee shop across the street from the studio. There, although the cute barista girls create awesome frothed milk art, the lattes never have enough espresso and I never remember to, or care to for that matter, stop at an ATM to pay for the ‘cash only’ establishment anyway. Ain’t nobody got time for that.

starbs insta

I am wearing uggs. There, I said it. I hate the idea of them. I know they’re ugly. But y’all have to admit they are damn warm, excuse my french. And when its a Saturday and I’m spending my weekend at a Starbucks doing freelance retouching, all I care about is warm toes and comfy vibes. Sue me.

kate and jersey cupBut I didn’t really come to this realization until I realized I was unconsciously (subconsciously? I forget which is fitting here… guess I didn’t learn much in that Freud class after all…) listening to Taylor Swift as I was editing, bobbing along. I found myself thinking, “Yeah girl, I know what you’re saying! Dang Taylor, I feel you!” And right there I realized, I’ve fully embraced the basic white girl in me. When your life is relatable to a TSwift song, there’s not doubt about it. And ya know what, it’s sort of a relief to just accept it…

And let me tell you – after only six months of living in Brooklyn, acting like you’re too freaking cool for everyone and everything all the time is exhausting and sooo totally boring. So I’ll raise my Jersey cup (what my hipster DJ roommate called my reusable plastic tumbler with the plastic straw and lid – see attached photo to the right of my Irish bird rocking her gifted Jersey cup after her pilgrimage to ‘the Shore’) and embrace who I’ve become. And laugh at everyone who hates on me for it 😉

One comment

  1. Jasmine · February 21, 2016

    This is awesome haha! I have found myself being a “basic white girl”…even though I’m black! I’ve been craving getting a pair of uggs they look so comfy!!!!

    Jasmine 🙂
    colorubold.com
    (I wanted to say thank you for subscribing to my email “Blog Your Way to Success”) If you have questions or advice that you want me to help you with, don’t be afraid to shoot me an email!

    Like

Leave a Reply

